Without change, we’d still be walking across steel beams without harnesses.

The standards that govern the access equipment industry have changed. The more you know about these changes, the easier it is to be compliant going forward. Learn more about the new ANSI and CSA standards for aerial work platform design, safe use and training today.

Why have the ANSI and CSA standards changed?

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) create standards that govern the design and use of aerial work platforms across North America. The last big change to these standards took place in 2006, so it was time for an update.

New ANSI standards for the U.S. were published in December 2018, while new CSA standards for Canada were published in May 2017. Drafted to be similar to international standards, like AS/NZS, CE, GB and ISO, these changes better align North American manufacturers like JLG with the global market.

The Impact of New Standards

Dealers, owners and operators need to make changes in the areas of training, job site safety and machine selection to accommodate the new standards.

Dealers & Rental Companies

  • Update training procedures to support new requirements
  • Offer familiarization to customers any time they rent, lease or buy equipment
  • Train technicians on new machine features
  • Update onboard manuals of responsibilities

Owners & Operators

  • Meet new training requirements
  • Give more consideration to machine choice
  • Participate in extensive planning to determine machines based on application
  • Perform site risk assessments for all MEWP operations, including training


Old machines don’t need to be retrofitted to meet the new standards.

New Terminology & Classifications

Under the new CSA and ANSI standards, aerial work platforms (AWPs) are now called mobile elevating work platforms (MEWPs). MEWPs are also now classified differently.

First, MEWPs are classified into groups.

Group A: MEWPs with platforms that move vertically but stay inside the tipping lines

Group B: All other MEWPs, typically boom-type MEWPs where the platform extends past the machine’s chassis

Under each group, they are then classified into types.

Type 1: Can only be driven in the stowed position

Type 2: Can be driven elevated but is controlled from the chassis

Type 3: Can be driven elevated but is controlled from the work platform

Want more details? Our Essential Guide to Understanding ANSI & CSA Standard Changes outlines the new standards so you can work more and worry less.

Download Guide

Stay Compliant with JLG

JLG is committed to meeting and exceeding new standards. With a broad range of products and training options available to owners, operators, dealers and rental companies, JLG helps you meet new ANSI and CSA standards. Stay informed and stay compliant.

See Compliance Solutions